The HungryText services are meant to help you make faster ordering decisions, and we save your preferences to streamline your process. We try to make responsible choices, communicate them clearly, and give you privacy options where we think you'll want them.
To make it easier for you to understand how your information is shared on our Services, we've put together FAQs that describe our default privacy settings and how they can be adjusted.
HungryText's services deal with delivery location needs, so in order to work, the Services need to know your location. We ask you for your delivery address and allow you store that location for future use. Whenever you open and use/interact with our apps on your mobile device or go to one of our Sites, we use the location information from your mobile device or browser (e.g., latitude and longitude) to tailor the Services to your current location (i.e., we'll show you a list of nearby locations, friends and tips). This information is NOT shared with others outside the ordering process, but it is provided to the vendor for whom which you are placing an order for delivery. Also, the Services may use your mobile device’s ‘background location’ to provide the Services, including to send you notifications of delivery/order status/eating tips/Specials/general notifications you may findinteresting etc. near you. If you have ‘background location’ turned on, the HungryText app will, from time to time, tell us about your device’s location even if you are not directly interacting with the application. We use various technologies to determine location, such as location services of the applicable operating system or browser and sensor data from your device that may, for example, provide information on nearby Wi-Fi- access points and cell towers. Bottom line is we really only need to know where you are when you place orders for delivery and it is required by the system to confirm.
Sharing Your Location with HungryText - Your real-time delivery location is shared with the vendor such as a restaurant. If you place an order, like or otherwise interact with a client on the Hungrytext network, Client may infer that you have confirmed that location. Sharing Location with HungryText - Your location data is ONLY shared with others when you proactively decide to "Order" on the HungryText platform to tell the Services you're at a particular place or, if you have opted-in for saved locations such as 'Home,' ‘Work’ etc. The location information shared with a "Order" is the location information required to complete a delivery order. You can turn off or Opt-out of location sharing.
Your Order History - Each of your orders using the Services is saved to your "Order History," which allows HungryText and its affiliates to look back at all the locations you have delivered to since you created your account. You can’t delete orders from the system because they are billable events that are kept on file for auditing purposes. If for some reason you ever decide to delete your Services account, your entire profile history will be removed from our database but your order history will remain.
You should be aware that if you or your friends add your home as a new delivery location in the Services database and that information is published on the Services (for example, via a user ordering to that home location), that information may be available to others and may be published by third parties without our control. To request removal of a location from the Services database (including your home address) please email us at Support@hungrytext.com.
The HungryTest app gives you recommendations about where to go, what to eat, when to eat, deals and offers from participating partners. These recommendations are based on and include, for example, the locations you've been, the locations your friends have visited, locations and things you and your friends and people you follow like/dislike, locations and things you and your friends and people you follow save, your loyalty to your favorite locations, your and your friends' and people you follow's tastes, the categories and types of locations you go, what locations and things are popular with other users, the day of the week, locations with great tips, the time of day, and so on. HungryText collects order item data from users in order to enhance the services. You can opt-out of any data mining on your preferences.
The HungryText app gives users the ability to send text messages to restaurants. You can send a message to a ordering bot on the HungryText platform or to support group. Even if your not placing an order, you can communicate via SMS/CHAT via our platform. If you comment on any message, your comment will be viewable to everyone in the system. You consent to receiving responses each time you reply. You can Opt-out at any time and you must agree that we may require some time to remove or stop automated system responses from communicating with you. All rates for messages on your service provider are your expense to carry.
When you use the Services, certain information is already public, such as your publsihed user profile information, public photos, lists that you create and save, tastes, and may be searchable by search engines and be shared with or disclosed to third parties, including through our API or SDK to a wide range of users and services. We may also share or disclose aggregated and/or anonymous data, such as de-identified order data (that does not identify an individual user), to third parties, including users of our API or SDK and our customers, for analytical or other purposes.
The bottom line is that we understand how important privacy is to you. From the beginning we've been working hard to build a range of robust privacy controls into the Services experience to give users control over the amount of information they share about their location or Ordering habits. We strive to keep our users data private and will continue to update you on privacy issues related to location awareness.